Zombie Country (Title Subject To Change!)

I know a lot of people have been asking me about a sequel to my novel, Zombie Island, so I’ve decided to make a post addressing the most common questions. First off, yes, the sequel is definitely happening. It has already been started, and I am currently working on chapter four. So it will probably be awhile before the book is finished, but I am getting there.

Second, the book is being told from Madison’s point of view. If you don’t remember who Madison is, she’s Sam’s cousin who was going to school in New York at the time of the outbreak, and is briefly mentioned in Zombie Island. As of right now, the plan is to have Madison’s story kind of tie into Sam’s—they will be crossing paths at some point, unless the plot gets a drastic overhaul. Don’t worry, the plot is pretty much set in stone at the moment, and there is plenty of action, drama, and zombie guts. You won’t be disappointed.

And third, the pricing of this book will be different. Zombie Island is currently listed for free on Barnes and Noble, and I don’t plan on changing that anytime soon. However, the goal of any writer is to make money, so I’m afraid I won’t be making the sequel free, too. As of right now, I’m thinking it will be priced at $2.99 and I would like to know what people honestly think about that. Don’t be afraid to give me your opinions.

So, if you have anymore questions just leave me a comment and let me know, and I’ll try to answer as soon as I can. Thanks for being patient and for reading my book!

38 comments on “Zombie Country (Title Subject To Change!)

  1. Please make it FREE!!!! i loved the first one, and i downloaded it from the ibookstore in my iPad. I have to say I loved it!!!! If you wont make it free for everyone, atleast make it free on the iBooks store. Please?!

  2. Hi! I read Zombie Island the other day, and I really enjoyed it. It had an interesting plot, and it felt like a real situation. Like, I really felt the danger that the story presented, so kudos for that for making a believable world!

    You wanted honest opinions, right? Well, while I enjoyed the book, I noticed a few grammatical errors, so you might want to watch out for that. I didn’t mind so much, but it can turn people off who might buy your books. Also, try not to be as repetitive. Some of your dialouge and descriptions were almost copies of what you had wrote earlier in the story. So be careful with that.

    I did give Zombie Island five stars on goodreads, because I loved it! I’m so happy there is going to be a sequel, because I can’t wait to see Ryder and Reese again. (They are so HOT! 😉 I will definatly buy Zombie Country no matter how much you charge!

    • Yes, I’m glad to hear an honest opinion. I know there are a few grammatical errors in Zombie Island—unfortunately, I don’t have the money to hire an editor, and I had to do it myself. Needless to say, I didn’t catch everything. But I believe my proofreading skills have gotten better since then, and there won’t be nearly as many mistakes in Zombie Country, if there will be any at all.

      I’m glad you loved Zombie Island, and I’m glad you’ll be buying Zombie Country as well. Thanks for you input! 🙂

  3. Hello Sam I really enjoyed the book and I can’t wait for the sequal. I don’t mind the grammatical errors in zombie island or that you’ll put a price on zombie country, I just hope it keeps my attention like ZI which I’m sure it will with the thoughts of how sam and her cousin madison stories unfold. Thank you for your creations and I will be keeping any eye out for any books with your name on them. Even though I stumbled on your book not really knowing who you were or your stand about the twilight series and my fascination with anything zombie related, when I started reading I couldn’t stop I’m sure you get that a lot but with me it was literal haning on to your every word as the suspense rose and drop again thank you and looking forward for more of your work to come soon.

  4. So excited about this book I’m really happy its about Madison I was wondering about her. I think you should charge for the sequel normally the first free book is to hook you and then you give them more. I like the cover to Zombie Island it gave it a grim feeling and that’s what an Apocalypse book should feel like. Keep up the great work. I finished all your books I’m kinda a book junkie so keep them coming LOL.

    • I’m glad you’re excited, and I’m glad you think I should charge for it. I’ve yet to hit the halfway mark, so it might be awhile before I get something else published. Right now, I’m working on this, as well as the final book in my Dark Heritage series, and I have plans to start a new series focusing on Demi-Gods. Both should be finished and published by summer, I hope. Thanks for commenting.

  5. Oh I’m so excited 🙂 I read what you said on Goodreads about putting yourself in the position you put your character in and I totally understand. I think it’s really fun and easier to think things through as yourself instead of a person you’ve created.

    I think it’s absolutely perfect you are going to put the sequel in Madison’s POV. For a minute it totally didn’t register who it was but then I remembered. It will be so exciting to see the end of world through another person’s life.

    I also think you should charge for the second book. And you can always do little promotions 🙂

    Also, I think the cover of Zombie Island was fine! I’ve seen other Indie books with covers that are so much worse. To be honest, I thought it was kind of cool but the only time I really could see it was on Goodreads so it’s not that important anyway! And I’m even a person soooo guilty of judging books by their covers :b

    Can’t wait for you to finish 🙂

  6. I loved Zombie Island and would for sure spend money to read the next book! People have bills to pay and mouths to feed, so keep doing your thing and people will pay! Good luck! Check outhttp://www.facebook.com/mia.bernal.16#!/Bookiesfan?fref=ts my book page on FB! You can use it to promote your book if you would like!

  7. I am soooo excited to read Zombie Country!!!!!!!! Honestly, I would totally pay $2.99 for the book, but please don’t make it too much more expensive if you change it, cuz I’m only 13 and I don’t get very much money and I want to read it right when it comes out!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Also, I hope that you have Madison and Sam cross paths closer to the beginning of the book, cuz i really wanna know what happened with Sam and Ryder!!!!!!!!!

  8. I loved zombie island. I can’t wait for the next one to come out. I know you said its from madisons pov but I hope to read more of ryder and sam. Can’t wait!

  9. Omg! Yay!! I feel in love with the book and the characters all of them. Especially Naomi, since my middle name is Naomi and i run track, not cross country, a bit much for me, lol. But i would pay top notch dollar for”Zombie Country”, i dont care. Lol . It was just that great of a book and if you want to make even more money turn both books into movies. But they have to be the exact same as the books. Im a sucker for details and thats what drew me to the book even more….well, and Ryder and Sam’s relationship, and Tobe’s words of wisdom. I loved her and it hurt me to see her go. Did she hear the door opening and tried to close it or was she just that sweet of a person to go in and talk to Melissa to see if she was alright, judging by her personality i think option two would fit. If a movie, it has to show Ryders hair colour, his blue-gray eyes, his muscular build, his and Sams height difference, Sams special town outfit, her bangs, Reeses tall slimness and his wit and charm, Tobes bubbly personality, her pink dress when the group spotted her, her reddish-brown hair, and the rest of the charatcters, even those grimmy/creepy pervs the Zombie Warrior. Lol. And um…. every scence when Ryder saved Sam, and every gorey zombie fight , oh and the part with those men who wanted an hour with Sam. But one of my fave parts was when Sam and Ryder were in the tree and Sam said she knew Ryder was staring at her even before she opened her eyes, lol. Im sorry if i seem a bit much, but im a sucker for detail. But Samantha, you are definetly going places with your vivid imagination and hope you make it soon. And you’re right with the twilight stuff. I refuse to read any of those books and watch any of there movies, heck no. I mean i love wolves but vampires? Seriously? Lol. Im hands down a zombie girl, i will watch read anything zombie. I am so glad i came across your book and really need to get your others. I am 16 and writing a book myself. I know it sounds cliché but it would actually be called “Twins”. Lol. Im just writing it in my composition book for now and hopefully makes it a book store and ebook stores. Fingers crossed, lol. Great job Samantha and wish you a bright future i get to enjoy from. 🙂

  10. Hi Sammy,
    As I mentioned last winter, I am astounded at how prolific you are! I would suggest a higher price than 2.99–perhaps 4.99? If the first book was a free ‘teaser’ to hook readers, the sequel should be the payday for your super-human efforts. But I trust you must have done your research and set your price accordingly.

    By the way, remember the 238 anthology-magazine I told you about? We are about to get started, the website just went on line, if you have the time, have a look and let me know if you would like to join the current issue.
    With best wishes,
    Ken

  11. Samantha,
    I just finished reading Consumed By War, and have read the first two also. I have also read Zombie Island and am very excited to hear that your working on a book two! Thank you. I am a little sad to hear that you will not be continuing on from the first story, but still excited for the next book. I hope that at lest half the new book has the old characters in it.
    As for charging for your work, you should charge. I think you are very generous to give any of your work away. Thank you for not charging anything for the books you have posted as free, it is because of that fact that I found you. Its not easy to write a novel and you should make some money.
    You are a amazing writer, and I will read anything you put your name on and pay for it. I hope you keep up the great work.
    BTW, Im a Graphic Designer…maybe we could trade some work? I left my web site here for you, feel free to get a hold of me if your interested.
    Keep up the great work, Im a huge fan!
    Brandon

    • Hi, Brandon. Thanks for commenting. I’m glad you like my books. Zombie Country will tie in with the first one, but it won’t be until closer to the end of the book. However, I am currently planning a third zombie book that would deal with both Sam and Madison, but I’m not sure if I will get around to writing it yet since zombie stories can kind of stand by themselves and I have a ton of other books to write. I hope you check out anything I publish in the future.

      • Gah! I almost literally cried and shouted for joy when i read you were making a third book. Ah-mazing! Cant wait! You’re an amazing writer, keep up the great work!

      • Hi i am in love with your books and i was just wondering when you might tgink the 3rd book will come out. I hope it comes soon ! 🙂

  12. I loooovvveeddd zombie island and I read your bio and I can’t believe your 19!!!! That’s amazing!!! Can’t wait for the sequel!!! Please let there be some Sam-and-Ryder time (if you know what I mean…)

  13. hi my Abrianna I read your book and loved it I just thought it was weird when Sam and Ryder got together I totally thought that Sam and Reese would get together.

  14. Hi I’m a12 year old girl and I never read but when I started reading your book I could not put it down. I think u are awesome 😇. I can not wait until zombie country comes out I read zombie island about 5 times and now my sister is in love with it I think that u should price zombie island at $1.22 so I can afford it Ryder was always my favorite but I think tobe and resse should have been together .loved your book😍😍😍😍💘

  15. Zombie island isn’t free anymore. I have just gotten a new nook and i was looking to download it but it wasn’t free anymore. Does anyone know what happened?

  16. Hello. So I loved the first book and constantly re-read it. Although most of the Warriors were killed have you considered having more of them in the sequel to keep things interesting? What if they were spread out throughout the country and Ryder and the gang have to face them. But please please please don’t get rid of Ryder.

  17. hi Samantha its Abrianna my mom wants to ask in zombie country is Sam, Ryder,Reese ,and Naomi going to be in zombie country.

    • Sam, Ryder, Reese, and Naomi will appear in Zombie Country, but not until near the very end. Zombie Country is told from Madison’s point of view, and their stories will cross paths. Then the third book, Zombie World, will be told from Sam’s point of view once again.

    • I don’t have a release date for the third book yet, but it will not be coming out anytime soon. I’ve barely started it as I have another book to finish first. There probably won’t be a sneak peek coming out anytime soon either, since I generally don’t like letting people read work that hasn’t been finalized. And Madison was only mentioned in the first book. She’s Sam’s cousin who was going to school in New York. She’s the main character of the second book.

  18. Hello , i was hoping that you might be able to tell me when the third book to your zombie series will be comming out. I just finished Zombie country and i loved it ! However i truly loved the first book Zombie Island by a fraction because of the love triangle. I am truly a fan and i hope that you are still going to make a third book to it 🙂 you are a really good author and i hope the book comes soon:) thanks

    • I’m glad you loved Zombie Country. I am currently working on the third book, but I’m not far enough along to have a set release date. I’m about a fifth of the way done at the moment.

Leave a Reply

